Congratulation to the "LAND OF BEAUTY & BOUNTY" contingent for winning 1st place in the Free Interpretation category of Cebu City's Sinulog Festival!


postheadericon All systems go for Lanao Norte International Motocross

REACHING FOR THE SKY. A rider seems to fly into the sky during the finals of the Pro-lites category. Lanao del Norte is now acclaimed by national and local riders as the Motocross Capital of the Philippines.Tubod, Lanao del Norte – The fast-rising province of Lanao del Norte is all set to host the biggest motocross event in the country. More than 300 riders from all over the Philippines are expected to participate in the 2-day competition that will start December 11, 2010 at the Mindanao Civic Center Sports Complex, Tubod.

Six riders from the American Motocross Association have also expressed their commitment to come to this province and pit their racing skills against local superstars like Glenn Aguilar, Jovie Saulog and Donark Yuson. Expected to see action in the Lanao del Norte International Motocross Invitationals are Daniel Blair, Tiger Lacey, Santos C.S., Gayan Sandaruwan, James Robinson and Ron de Jesus.

“This event will solidify the title of Lanao del Norte as the Motocross Capital of the Philippines”, Information Officer Lyndon Calica said.

The province has been regularly hosting national motocross events in partnership with SEL-J Sports since the completion of its world-class racetrack early last year.

“The race track here is fantastic by local and international standards. Very technical, yet very safe. Definitely, Lanao del Norte is home to the best motocross track in the Philippines today”, declared SEL-J Race Director Bobby Orbe.

Among the teams that will vie for the championship trophy are Quick Flight, Team Pacquiao, KTM Access Plus. FastLane, Therasil SEL-J, and several others in Mindanao led by Team Sultan Naga Dimaporo (SND).

Top local riders from the National Capital Region, Cebu, Puerto Prinsesa, Tuguegarao, Davao, Nueva Ecija, Cavite, Dumaguete, Iloilo, Bukidnon, La Union, Ilocos Sur, Bicol, Sorsogon, Laguna, Bulacan, Batangas, Surigao, Ozamiz, Pagadianand Sultan Naga Dimaporo have also declared their participation in the contest.

Riders will be competing in 15 categories: Intermediate Category, 65 cc & 85cc Categories, Novice Prod B Category, Beginner Local Open Enduro Category, Ladies Category, Beginner Open Production, 50cc Category, Executive A Category, Novice Open Production, Underbone, Executive B Veterans Category, Novice Local Open Enduro Category, Executive C Category, and crowd favorite Pro-Lites Category.

The provincial LGU have consistently given the biggest cash prizes for winners in previous motocross events.

“We want to see Lanao del Norte become the sports mecca of the country. Every sport has a home here in our province”, Governor Khalid Dimaporo concluded. VNL/PIO-LDN


Add comment

Security code