Congratulation to the "LAND OF BEAUTY & BOUNTY" contingent for winning 1st place in the Free Interpretation category of Cebu City's Sinulog Festival!


postheadericon Kolambugan

Kolambugan is a 4th class municipality in the province of Lanao del Norte, Philippines. According to the 2007 census, it has a population of 25,306 people. The name “Kolambugan” was taken from a word “kolambog”, a kind of tree which grew abundantly in the area. Some present day barangays were also before called Migcamiguing and Maribojoc named also from trees abundantly found in the area.



Based on legend, Kolambugan got its unique name from a tree specie which is prominent in the area. The “Kolambugan Tree”, the abundance of its kind triggered the naming of the place Kolambugan.

As early as 19th century, a couple of American migrants settled and established a timber processing plant named Kolambugan Lumber Development, that later changed to Findlay Millar Timber Company.

The presence of the timber company triggered rapid economic growth. This resulted into the change from a small barrio, inhabited by native Maranaos and Christians settlers from the neighboring places of the island, into a municipal district level that stretches from Buru-un, now part of the City of Iligan, to Karomatan area, now the municipality of Sultan Naga Dimaporo.

On July 1, 1936, by virtue and power of the Executive Order No. 37, President Manuel L. Quezon declared Kolambugan as one of the Municipalities of Lanao Province. The Lanao province was further divided into Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur. Kolambugan is part of Lanao del Norte province.



Kolambugan is politically subdivided into 26 barangays.

  • Austin Heights
  • Baybay
  • Bubong
  • Caromatan
  • Inudaran
  • Kulasihan
  • Libertad
  • Lumbac
  • Manga
  • Matampay
  • Mukas
  • Muntay
  • Pagalungan
  • Palao
  • Pantaon
  • Pantar
  • Poblacion
  • Rebucon
  • Riverside
  • San Roque
  • Santo Niño
  • Simbuco
  • Small Banisilan
  • Sucodan
  • Tabigue
  • Titunod